Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Cooling issue persists... need a Guru!

Search this Thread

Old 07-16-2016, 10:11 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2001
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L
Question Cooling issue persists... need a Guru!

I will be as brief as possible. First I am an active technician of many years but this one has me stumped. I will attempt to be as concise as possible and not leave out any relevant info.
My '01 XJ 4.0L is running warmer than I think it should. The gauge, scanner, and infrared all agree that once it's up to running temp I'm at 215-220 give or take a degree or two. It has been warm here (ambient temp) but not anything out of the ordinary for CO this time of year.
A couple weeks ago I added a med duty (7 1/2" X 11") trans cooler in front of the condenser, left side, middle mount. After that is when I "noticed" it was a little high on the gauge, I've never had occasion to need one so I thought to myself 'Well the trans runs pretty hot, pulling heat across this cooler may reduce the radiators efficiency'. In other words, maybe this is normal...
Despite this thought, it was buggin me, so having an insider at a parts place, I installed a 3 row copper/brass HD radiator... no change.
Dropped the T-stat from 195 to 180... no change.
Installed a switch to override the aux fan for manual operation (run as long as I want it to)... no change.
It's running perfectly except for this (fuel trims, etc. etc.)
It's making me crazy fellow Jeepers!! Normal maybe? Any ideas?

Oh and on another subject, anyone have experience with hood vents for the hereditary hot soak issue with the XJ's?
I have some picked out but wonder if they are really worth the hassle.

Thanks for reading and any ideas!
K
Old 07-17-2016, 12:28 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Engine: 4.0
Default I am not a guru ;)