Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Code p0132

Search this Thread

Old 03-06-2014, 01:51 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1997
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default Code p0132

Hi guys, my 97 cherokee keeps throwing the code p0132. Within the last year and a half I've replaced both o2 sensors. I believe they were made by Bosch. The only time it throws the code is when I let the jeep sit and idle for more than 10 mins. I've checked both the o2 sensor wires and they appear to be in good shape. Any help diagnosing would be greatly appreciated.
Old 03-06-2014, 02:24 PM
CF Veteran

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Year: 1999

Dude, ive been throwing the same code for a lil over 2 months, its the rear o2, so doesnt really affect anything but the cel is still there. Try unplugging it and plugging it back in, if theres any other fix i'd be interested
Old 03-06-2014, 02:36 PM
CF Veteran

Received 82 Likes on 67 Posts

Originally Posted by RideRed264
Hi guys, my 97 cherokee keeps throwing the code p0132. Within the last year and a half I've replaced both o2 sensors. I believe they were made by Bosch. The only time it throws the code is when I let the jeep sit and idle for more than 10 mins. I've checked both the o2 sensor wires and they appear to be in good shape. Any help diagnosing would be greatly appreciated.
When did t start throwing the code?

Here's some data from the diagnostics manual:

P0132-1/1 O2 SENSOR SHORTED TO VOLTAGE

When Monitored: With battery voltage greater than 10.4 volts, engine running for more than 4 minutes and coolant temperature above 180°F.

Set Condition: The oxygen sensor voltage is above 1.5 volts.

Possible Causes

INTERMITTENT CONDITION
O2 SENSOR OPERATION
O2 SENSOR SIGNAL SHORTED TO VOLTAGE
O2 SENSOR SIGNAL CIRCUIT SHORTED TO O2 HEATER CIRCUIT
O2 SENSOR SIGNAL OPEN
O2 SENSOR GROUND CIRCUIT OPEN
PCM