Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Clutch Slave Cylinder Leak

Search this Thread

Old 05-24-2010, 12:32 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1993
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default Clutch Slave Cylinder Leak

Im pretty new to jeeps, so any help would be appreciated.

I just picked up my first jeep, its a 93 Cherokee with the 4.0 and 5speed transmission. I traded some things for it, and plan to use it as my off-road toy to replace my heavy chevy.

Problem: I drove it home from the purchase location about 30 miles from my home. About 20 miles down the road, the clutch felt really loose and seemed as if it was not working. Eventually the pedal did nothing and I could not switch gears, so I pulled over and checked the fluids in the master cylinder up next to the brake fluid reservoir and noticed it was down a little. So I left it there and drove a different vehicle to get brake fluid. Put the brake fluid in and still nothing.

I started in drive and drove it home fighting to get it in gear without using the clutch. It sucked nonetheless, but I got it home.

My question is, now I can only get it to go in gear with the engine off because the clutch seems to not be engaging. I checked the fluids when I got home and they were low again, meaning there is a leak. I checked for a leak and found that pumping the clutch pedal made brake fluid come out right at the bottom of the pressure plate.

Does this mean I need to replace the slave cylinder, or are the lines needing replaced?

thanks for any response
Old 05-24-2010, 03:46 PM

Year: 2000
Engine: 4.slow