Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.
Old 09-18-2015, 12:46 PM
How-Tos on this Topic
Last edit by: IB Advertising
See related guides and technical advice from our community experts:

Browse all: Jeep Cherokee XJ Interior Guides
Print Wikipost

CLOCK SPRING WOES, 1998 Jeep Cherokee

Search this Thread

Old 04-29-2013, 11:13 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1998 , 1999
Model: Cherokee
Engine: Both 4.0 IL6
Default CLOCK SPRING WOES, 1998 Jeep Cherokee

Just determined that my clock spring is the culprit for my cruise control problem. I am an electrical engineer so I refused to buy a $250 clock spring without trying to fix it myself. Thought I would post this and share with those who may need to know how to troubleshoot the clock spring/cruise control/airbag dash light/horn don't work issues:

I pulled off all the trim pieces from the steering column and the airbag from the steering wheel and traced out the wires. Then I took some common sewing pins and pinned(inserted pins thru the insulation to contact the copper) the wires. Then I jumped around the clock spring with some alligator clip end wires. This is basically bypassing the clock spring. Lo and behold, the cruise control started working again. Even sitting still at idle, the cruise light on the dash will come on if you press the on/off switch on the steering wheel. This is also a good way to determine if your cruise control switches are working correctly and rule out the clock spring. Use your average haynes or chilton's manual to find which wire is which.