Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

A/C questions - novice - Part 2

Old 07-26-2018, 02:16 PM
CF Veteran

Received 234 Likes on 207 Posts
Year: 1995
Model: Cherokee(XJ)
Engine: I6 4.0L
Default A/C questions - novice - Part 2

This is a follow-up to my earlier thread: https://www.cherokeeforum.com/f2/c-q...novice-245505/
The earlier thread has 4 or 5 pages so I figure it's easier to get right to the questions at hand. I have zero experience working with A/C systems, but I'd like to get my 95's system working if I can do so without spending a lot of money and hopefully learn more about A/C systems in general.

So I ordered a new expansion valve, Receiver/Dryer and o-ring set for my 95 XJ with the factory R134a system. I've verified my compressor kicks on when jumped, so I'm working under the assumption that the compressor is OK until it proves otherwise. My system is completely depleted of refrigerant.

My plan is to replace the o-rings, valve and R/D and then proceed to checking that the system will hold vacuum. (See previous thread)

Question 1: Disconnecting the threaded type fittings - if these give me trouble due to age or corrosion, can I use penetrants (PB Blaster, etc.) and/or heat on the lines?
Question 2: I started unscrewing one of the caps on the new R/D and was surprised that it started making a sound (like air movement hissing). I immediately tightened the cap back up and thinking about it figured that it must be vacuumed or something like that from the factory. Is that the case?
Question 3: I'm assuming that removing and replacing the parts is pretty straightforward, undo the lines, replace o-rings wherever there is an existing one and put it back together. Is this the case or is there something I'm missing? The FSM was pretty vague - remove line, attach line, etc.

Thanks!
Old 07-26-2018, 07:26 PM