Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

AX15 woes... help me think through this.

Search this Thread

Old 05-02-2011, 08:29 AM
CF Veteran

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Model: Cherokee
Default AX15 woes... help me think through this.

I've been wrestling with this problem for a couple months now and I'm getting close to having enough time to pull the trans back out for further inspection.

The problem:

3rd won't let me in. If I attempt a push for 3rd it makes no audible noise or physical grind UNTIL I attempt to release the clutch "in" that gear. If I'm sitting still and shift for third, as I let the clutch out slowly, you'll see the shifter punch back ever so slightly and you'll see the shifter vibrate as if the syncro sleeve is skipping across the teeth on the 3rd gear's mating teeth.

What I've done or tried:

Full transmission rebuild (all new bearings, new blocking rings, and seals), New Hurst shifter (at this point just to be sure the shifter isn't related), Amsoil 75W-90 GL-4 new transmission fluid.

Other potentially useful information: There are no other issues with the transmission, every gear engages quietly and without grinding; even reverse isn't that bad. The clutch seems fine as it never has a problem disengaging or slipping at hwy speeds. If I can get the third gear to "catch" it will remain in without popping out but its likely to be quite audible if I attempt it.

Here is a picture of the transmission I took when it was apart. The 3-4 syncro sleeve is under the fork on the left side of the first picture. When I shift for 3rd the sleeve moves towards the intermediate plate via the shift fork. As you can see there is no damage to the mating teeth, and I replaced that blocking ring, as well as the rest of them, when I rebuilt the transmission. Does the discoloration on the 3-4 shift fork mean anything ya think?