Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Awful Vibration After Accident

Search this Thread

Old 04-19-2018, 07:08 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2000
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Engine: 4.0
Default Awful Vibration After Accident

Hi guys, I have a 200 Jeep XJ with 145k on it. I recently went off the road when I hit a slick patch of ice, and ended up the ditch. No major damage, just a cracked steering box. I have been driving the jeep for 2 months since it has gotten back on the road, and I have started to get some bad vibrations. The vibrations seem to come from the passenger side, front tire. I only get the vibrations when I am driving very slow (5-20 mph) and when I am slowing down to a stop. It is so bad that it rattles interior plastic and makes a rough shuddering noise. I am starting to think that my front passenger hub may be bad since it took most of the beating in the accident. I replaced both front hubs in Feb 2017 with Timkens, and the brakes were done in November of 2017. I have checked the ball joints and they seem tight, and I am assuming it is either the brake caliper or the hub. Am I way off track here? Not sure if it matters or not, but trans mount and motor mounts were also replaced in Feb of 2017. Steering seems tight, nothing loose. Whats your opinion?
Old 04-19-2018, 07:32 AM

Probably should add that I replaced both LCA's, and it seems like driver side tie rod end may have some slight play in it
Old 04-19-2018, 07:41 AM
CF Veteran

Received 94 Likes on 85 Posts
Year: 1990, 1999, 2000
Model: Cherokee

if you haven't done an alignment since the accident, i would definitely do that. also i think you are on the right track with the hub unit. since it's a timkin, you may be able to get it replaced under warranty.
your track bar would have taken a hard hit also. be sure to check both ends.