Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

APN Exhaust manifold

Search this Thread

Old 08-18-2014, 09:47 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1998
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default APN Exhaust manifold

I am new to the XJ family, and this isn't the reason i'd like to have my first post but just got mine back in february but she needed work. started off with new muffler and cat, injectors, TPS, valve cover gasket, sway bar links and rear leaf springs. that all went easy and was pretty fun.
The second thing i bought was a APN exhaust manifold, I read all over and on my 98 the only issue i expected was the bolt to the right of the center tube being a pain. I was prepared and got it on with a ratcheting wrench pretty easy.
This is where my issue came up, after putting her back together when I turn it on I rev up to 2-2.5k, then it drops down to 750-1k but idles rough until warmed up.
I assumed i didn't have everything lined up right so i bought a new FelPro gasket and redid the whole thing, issue is still there. so i did it again for kicks and giggles. At this point i couldn't miss work so i had to put her back together, my mechanic says it sounds like a vacuum leak, i have checked all lines i can find as best as i can. It seems the leak is coming from the manifold, a buddy looked at it and noticed right away that the new manifold is thicker than the intake (2-3mm) and the washers are not sitting flush.
So as far as i can tell that is the issue, but can not find anyone else who seems to have this issue. Have any of you had a issue like this or have any ideas?
Old 08-18-2014, 09:56 PM
Seasoned Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts