Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Air conditioner to on-board air?

Search this Thread

Old 03-04-2009, 01:23 AM
CF Veteran

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1987
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L
Default Air conditioner to on-board air?

I'm looking for a cheep way to convert my '87 XJ to have on-board air. I do not have an air conditioner, but I have no experience with the a/c system, I could use some background and maybe some howto info on making this happen.
Old 03-04-2009, 01:48 AM

Year: 1990 laredo

I saw a great write up on this a while back but I forget where. possibly naxja

It's a great idea for an off road rig, I can't knock it. I like my AC though so I picked up a small oxygen tank I plan to covert for compressed air use. Fill it up and it will be ready to go whenever I need it. I don't see myself needing to fill more than the 4 tires on my truck so it should be more than enough air.
Old 03-04-2009, 01:57 AM
CF Veteran

Originally Posted by cherokee4meplz
I saw a great write up on this a while back but I forget where. possibly naxja

It's a great idea for an off road rig, I can't knock it. I like my AC though so I picked up a small oxygen tank I plan to covert for compressed air use. Fill it up and it will be ready to go whenever I need it. I don't see myself needing to fill more than the 4 tires on my truck so it should be more than enough air.
Between me and my trail buddies, it's nice to have the air available should the need arise. It also saves tires some wear and tear should you air down at all. I don't have an AC and it doesn't bother me that way, so I figure I have the perfect space for an A/C compressor.
Old 03-04-2009, 08:25 AM
Do you hear banjos?

Received 6 Likes on 3 Posts