Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Advice Please. Looking @ an XJ need help

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-2010, 02:29 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Advice Please. Looking @ an XJ need help

Hello as you can see I'm new to the forum. Heck I'm new to the Jeep world period. As a matter of fact I have always hated Jeeps b/c of shear jealousy in aftermarket support . Sorry but I had to be honest. However my thought process on the JEEP world has changed and now I'm looking for a secondary trail rig that I can drive to and from offroad parks reliably and get back home in. Also my family is wanting to venture out wheeling with me and I simply can not take my wife, 2 younger sisters, and my mom in my two door ZR2 truck . So I began to look on the InterWeb for a family trailrig. I think I may have hit gold but I would definatley like a second opinion from a forum that specilizes in the vehicle I want.

So here is what I have found:

Its a 1990 XJ with a 2000 model 4.0 HO motor (why I have no idea ).Maybe he wanted the HO motor with its 190 HP. It has 5 in lift of some sort (didn't say what kind), 456 gears,Lockers front and rear (he says there Lockrite),33in. Pro-Comp Xterrians with 70% tread left, Warn ES9000 winch with winch bumper (plated kind dont know which manufacture), A/C works and power windows work. Automatic. Smittybilt rear tubed bumper,clear title,runs and drives great. He wants a new project thats the reason for selling.

http://bham.craigslist.org/cto/1656759102.html

So I call the guy and I ask him some basic questions and he tells me that it has this: AW4 tranny, NP231 transfer case, D30 HP up front, 35 rear, and doesn't think it has anti-lock brakes. From the pictures I have seen it does not appear to have any body rust. Haven't seen interior pics yet.