Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

ac question... is it low?

Search this Thread

Old 06-07-2012, 09:19 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default ac question... is it low?

I know there are a bunch of ac related questions around here and ive xhexked a bunch of them and can't find an answer to my question... anyways ive got a 98 cherokee sport. the ac hasnt worked since i bought it a few years ago but i decided to give it a go today and see whata wrong. the compressor has never kicked on since ive owned it. i stuck a can of refregerant with a gauge on it and it showed around 25 to 30 psi. i started shooting some into the system and i got the compressor to kick on. it started short cycling and the pressure gauge would drop to about 0 when the compressor kicked on. the gauge would then climb back up after a few seconds. i added some more till it read about 45psi with the compressor not running. does this mean its low and if so why does it read highee pressure when off? btw its still short cycling... i think i only added a small amount so far.

or do i have some othee issue.

anyways thanks in advance for any help
Old 06-07-2012, 09:57 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1996
Engine: 4.0L

I am by no means an AC expert but it sounds like it. I think you want to shoot for 35-40 on the low side for pressures depending on ambient temps while the compressor is running.. Dont think it matters much what the pressures are while the compressor is disengaged. If it were me i would keep adding til you get the compressor to stop cycling and get good pressures or cold air.

Last edited by 96fsxj; 06-07-2012 at 10:01 PM.
Old 06-07-2012, 10:03 PM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Year: 1998
Engine: 4.0

Okay. Here's the long and short of it...

Yes, it's low. And if it's low or empty, you've had or currently have a leak.