Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

abs '91 cherokee

Search this Thread

Old 06-14-2012, 02:57 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Cool abs '91 cherokee

Hello, I'm not really a Jeep Guy, but I'm helping a friend out with his '91 Cherokee. It has a 4.0 engine in it. The story is,, it was running poorly so he took it and had the thing tuned up. Before the tune up the brakes worked fine. when he got the jeep back, it ran much better, and it just needed a general tune up. from that day it has not had any brakes. the pedal is hard but no matter how hard he pushes it, there is hardly any slowing and won't stop.
He never got an ABS or Brake light at all. He told me the brake system was only used two years, '90, '91. I am a disabled mechanic, and have been out of the loop for a while, but this brake system is not what I'm used to seeing. I'm thinking the problem might be something the guy did while tuning it, but not sure what to look for. I searched for a while and did find a write up on how the system works, I did see where it has a pump in the system. I hope you all can help us. thanks
Old 06-14-2012, 03:06 PM
CF Veteran

Received 19 Likes on 18 Posts
Year: 1995
Model: Grand Cherokee
Engine: 4.0 with all of the noise and clatter

Google "chrysler 702 recall". There is a lifetime recall on the Bendix9 ABS system. But it is possible that the connector for the ABS pump was knocked loose, or a fuse may have blown.
Old 06-14-2012, 03:19 PM
CF Veteran

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Year: 1989
Engine: 4.0L I6

Hopefully can just take it in and get it replaced for because of the recall. They do not cover the accumulator though, so spend the money to replace that if you go that route.
Old 06-15-2012, 05:10 PM

I want to thank you for the comebacks. I'm sure this is going to make by buddy's day. thanks again.