Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

99 Jeep Cherokee - Heat Issue

Search this Thread

Old 01-29-2013, 06:06 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default 99 Jeep Cherokee - Heat Issue

Hello all. I have been playing around with my jeeps heating issue for almost a month now, and I am running out of suggestions myself. I am in Alberta, Canada, so temperatures get around -45C. I am by no means a mechanic, but can normally follow instructions fairly well. I have a 99 Jeep Cherokee, I6 4.0. It will only blow warm air when the heat is on. I have flushed the heater core twice. This was done with just a regular garden hose with very hot water on a jet setting. I noticed dirty water and debris came out during this process. After about 5 minutes I noticed the water was running clear through it. Still no heat. I just changed the thermostat with an aftermarket part from Canadian Tire. Still no heat. I am not sure if I made a mistake with the above processes, but I believe I didn't. Just looking for some info, and advice on what to try again, or try next before taking it in to someone for a pocketful of money. Thanks all in advance for any help!
Old 01-29-2013, 06:26 PM
Seasoned Member

Year: 1999
Engine: Big 4.0L