Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

96 XJ Getting hot...

Search this Thread

Old 09-17-2014, 02:17 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default 96 XJ Getting hot...

Let me start off by saying hello. This is my 2nd XJ. First was a lifted toy this one is MN winter transportation for the fiance and new baby.

The issue is that after reaching operating temp the needle slowly creeps up past 210 and continues climbing to the last white line before the red on the gauge. This will happen faster if I am heavy in the throttle or jumping on the highway. I have noticed the AUX fan never kicks on so I jumpered it to see if that would lower temps, it did but not by enough to think the lack of AUX fan was causing an issue.

I work as a lube tech and had the mechanic look at it. He confidently ruled out a head gasket issue and said the coolant looked good too. He gave me a lot of maybe's that really only involve throwing parts at it until the problem goes away.

Are there more common XJ issues that would be good places to start looking for a problem like this ?

Thank you.
Old 09-17-2014, 02:26 PM

Year: 2000
Engine: 4.0L

When I bought my XJ I had to replace a fuse to get my aux fan working again (the aux fan relay was actually fine). Search my posts if you want I actually posted pictures and detail. The symptoms you are describing sound like either aux fan is not operating as it should, or your thermostat is going. Could be other things as well.
Old 09-17-2014, 02:28 PM

Originally Posted by beasticles