Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

96 Cherokee Stalls

Search this Thread

Old 03-19-2013, 12:44 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default 96 Cherokee Stalls

Long time lurker, newbie here.

I have a 96 Cherokee 4.0L. Over the past few days, I've noticed it sputters when it starts. Now this is something another person would not notice, but I know my girl... This morning I started her with the minor sputtering and made my way to work (23.9 miles). I pulled into the lot at work and it stalled just as I pulled her in the space and would not start (cranks fine).

I pulled the codes with the 'key trick' and pulled a 12 (battery recently disconnected) and 17 (engine running too cool). I waited several hours and she started with some light pedal pumping. She would stay running as long as I had the pedal pressed. I went thothe back and it was running very rich by the smell of the exhaust. When I let go she stalls and won't restart until I let her sit. I know I got the code 12 because I disconnected the battery to replace the starter 6 weeks ago; she's run fine until now (had the battery load tested just before the starter was replaced and all is 5X5 there). The only other work I have done on her in the past year is brakes all around (front disk and rear drum) and an oil change. Looking all over the forums, I want to say the idle air control valve is bad or gunked up. I haven't had the resources to really check it because I am at work.

What do you guys think?

Last edited by Scott Hasty; 03-19-2013 at 12:47 PM.
Old 03-19-2013, 03:46 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Bueller, Bueller...
Old 03-19-2013, 04:34 PM
CF Veteran

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Year: 1990
Engine: 4.0