Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

94 4.0 someone please help

Search this Thread

Old 07-02-2021, 08:57 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Default 94 4.0 someone please help

Im new to this so forgive me if I make some mistakes. I have got to get this thing going it's my only ride. Im losing work,and money! I drove it into our barn/shop. Reason, while driving when taking off it would backfire an pop. I got it home changed plugs, wires,cap was new didn't change it. Changed the IAC, throttle position sensor,even the throttle body. It will turn over an putter like it wants to start then when you let off the key it stutters an backfires. Do that a few times then play with the gas pedal an you can keep it running somewhat but not enough to move it. Then it'll rev up itself and suddenly drop rpm an backfire so loud then die. I'm stuck and have no help or another way to get around any ideas or suggestions would be very appreciated
Old 07-02-2021, 09:04 AM

Received 60 Likes on 47 Posts
Year: 97
Engine: 4.0
Default 4 ohhh crap!

Fuel pressure, crank sensor maybe. Any codes?
Old 07-02-2021, 09:17 AM
CF Veteran

Received 411 Likes on 335 Posts
Year: 1988
Engine: 4.0L

Did this start happening "all of a sudden"? Have you done anything to it recently?

Cap is new? How new? Verify the firing order. Make sure the rotor is on securely.
Old 07-02-2021, 11:24 AM

Default Cap maybe a month

Fuel pressure seems ok, and idk if I'm doing this correctly so sorry if I'm not. Firing order seems on spot I read a few post stating the 94 it's kinda hard to mess the timing up. But I've even changed the computer an does the exact same thing. The only code if had if I counted the check engine light flashing correct was IAC fault due to hight or low voltage
Old 07-02-2021, 11:35 AM
CF Veteran

Received 623 Likes on 465 Posts
Year: 1998