Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

88 comanche, won't shut off, other questions

Search this Thread

Old 11-29-2009, 06:47 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default 88 comanche, won't shut off, other questions

Hey all, newbie here. Just bought this 88 comanche, 4.0, fuel injected, manual 5 speed, working out some bugs.

I went to shut it off, and it continues to run with key off and out, I had to stall it to shut it down.
I checked a few other posts on this, but nobody bothered to state their results with replacing an ignition switch, or any steps involved in replacing the part.

so, first choice in repair? do I have to pull the ignition tumbler or is it accessed differently?

and there are some relays on the passenger fender under the hood, does anybody have a good writeup (hopefully with pictures) on what is what over there? the previous owner has a jumper wire ran to power I think the fuel pump due to this relay being 'intermittenly defective', its plugged in while running and disconnected to keep the battery up, while off.

anyway, I promise if I fix my problem, I'll report the results for the next poor shmuck,
thanks
Nick
Old 11-29-2009, 07:23 PM

the ignition switch is on top of the column. you don't need to pull the lock cylinder. i have heard of guys pulling the instraments cluster out to get to it or you could drop the column.
Old 11-29-2009, 07:26 PM
CF Veteran

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Year: 90
Engine: 4.0

The ignition switch isn't inside the column.. it is bolted to the top of it. There will be a rod that runs from inside to column down to it. If you stick you head under the dash and look on top of the column you should be able to see the switch and its plugs.
Old 11-30-2009, 09:11 AM
CF Veteran

Year: 87
Engine: 4.0