Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

87 4.0 injector random voltage loss

Search this Thread

Old 10-04-2014, 11:34 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1987
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default 87 4.0 injector random voltage loss

ok folks, I'm pretty new to jeeps... I have an 87 jeep cherokee 4.0 5 speed with a real mind boggling problem. It started with burnt cps wires, which I have fixed. It has spark but is randomly loosing voltage to 2,3,and number 6 injectors. I'm fairly mechanically inclined but this one is beating me. I was curious if it has a limp mode which would cut juice to some of the injectors or of other know problems that would create this issue. any help would be appreciated.

Last edited by JMcIrvin; 10-04-2014 at 11:43 AM.
Old 10-04-2014, 11:54 AM
CF Veteran

Received 82 Likes on 67 Posts
Year: 1999

Originally Posted by JMcIrvin
ok folks, I'm pretty new to jeeps... I have an 87 jeep cherokee 4.0 5 speed with a real mind boggling problem. It started with burnt cps wires, which I have fixed. It has spark but is randomly loosing voltage to 2,3,and number 6 injectors. I'm fairly mechanically inclined but this one is beating me. I was curious if it has a limp mode which would cut juice to some of the injectors or of other know problems that would create this issue. any help would be appreciated.
Could you describe how you determined you are loosing voltage to the injectors. Method used.
Old 10-04-2014, 11:56 AM

I just used a test light. It flashed on the injectors that were firing and not on the others... 2, 3, and 6
Old 10-04-2014, 11:59 AM

I also can start it sometimes and it will run smooth for a short time, then I shut it off and it runs rough again. rough more than smooth though.
Old 10-04-2014, 12:18 PM

Originally Posted by CCKen