Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

2001 aw4 slip and jeep died in drive through

Search this Thread

Old 07-03-2012, 02:59 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default 2001 aw4 slip and jeep died in drive through

Noob here sorry if the is in the wrong area but I would like some help with my 01' xj sport. Long story short on the jeep, I traded a 96' z71 that had way to big of a to do list for it. The guy said no a/c, no speedo, heater core maybe bad, the worst thing was the oil pan bolts were striped out. Well so far I just fixed the speedo and trans. pan bolts. a/c and heater core I can deal with later. Well my prob. is that I took it for its first real drive and while sitting in a drive through with wife and newborn temp was at 210 and they were taken forever so I put it in park well I started to knotice a slight miss or hesitation. Well we got the food and when I put it in Drive the jeep just died tryed to start it and it just turned over didn't start so I pushed it to a p-spot and tryed again so the familey and I went inside because its 105 today ate lunch and then tryed the jeep again well the batt. was not the greatest but after almost killing the batt. it fired up and we hauled ***** home while doing so I found the trans slips in reverse bad and under load it takes to long and slides into forward gears, but when driven easy it is fine except reverse. trans fluid I used is dextron vi. The guy before me mixed dextron with atf-4 just when ever trans fluid he could find. any info will help and sorry again if this is a long post and in the wrong area.
Old 07-03-2012, 03:13 PM
CF Veteran

Received 18 Likes on 16 Posts
Year: My Jeep is a GMC

For the transmission try draining & refilling with Dex/Merc III. For the engine any codes?
Old 07-03-2012, 03:21 PM
CF Veteran

Received 19 Likes on 16 Posts