Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

2000 Sport- Engine on its last legs?

Search this Thread

Old 04-12-2019, 07:47 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2000
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Engine: 4.0L
Default 2000 Sport- Engine on its last legs?

I purchased a 2000 Jeep Cherokee Sport back in December. Inspections, test drive, and the Carfax didn't show that the past owner blew the head gasket. I took it to a shop to replace it, among a few other things.

Long story short, I have low oil pressure at idle after driving around for a while (the dial occasionally goes to zero and the "check gauges" light comes on). It's worse with the warmer weather, which is also a reason it didn't show up in the winter up north where I bought it.

I am a college student in Alabama and will have an internship in Montgomery, where I have to drive it every day, most likely in rush hour, where it's 97 on average in July. It still runs great- no rough idle, 35-40 psi at around 2,000 rpms, no check engine light or anything. I just replaced the oil pressure sending unit and no luck.

Some people say using 15w-40 oil instead of the recommended 10w-30 can make it last a few years longer (no clue how many miles that is). Is that my only option? I really don't want to sell it and am open to engine swapping, but I have no idea which shop to choose from- after calling around, I've learned that not many places do it. Of course, cost is a huge issue as well.

What are my options? Anything wrong with using thicker oil if I just need to buy some time until I make real paychecks so I can swap it? I recognize I'll have to swap it eventually.
Old 04-13-2019, 01:12 AM

Received 33 Likes on 23 Posts
Model: Cherokee