Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

1988 cherokee

Search this Thread

Old 01-17-2012, 05:08 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1988
Model: Cherokee
Question 1988 cherokee

Hello all, I am a newbie here so let me thank you for letting me join your community.

I took my vehicle to the shop for a look see. I wanted to just make sure it was all good/safe before winter and I had an issue with the wipers...they just stopped working (wasn't the fuse I changed that). Well after having it forever they now tell me that I need new rotors and all brake parts. I am a single mom and don't want to get shafted. I am handy but have no tools and can't begin to do the work myself so what is a fair price for the work? I saw rotors on JC Whitney that start at $21.99. I don't need fancy just safe. Also, any suggestions on good low price tires? Again, safe but I am working full time, going to school and supporting my little one alone and need to spend as little as possible. Thanks for the info & have a great day.
Old 01-17-2012, 05:43 PM
Seasoned Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Year: 1998,2001
Engine: 4.0

My best suggestion is find a friend or a friend of a friend that will do your brakes for a case of beer. You're looking at around $100 in parts. If you bring it somewhere to have them done they will charge you somewhere around $300-500!! and that's just for the front brakes. As for tires I would try craigslist, there are plenty of people selling essentially brand new tires already mounted on rims for $200-400 and the only reason they're selling them is because they upgraded to bigger tires or fancier rims that their stock tires wont fit.
Old 01-17-2012, 05:53 PM
N8N

Year: 1999