Modified Grand Cherokee Tech. All ZJ,WJ & WK aftermarket tech goes here All Modified, NON-OEM tech goes here. IE:Aftermarket Lifts, Shocks, Tires, Performance, etc..

WJ 3inch lift questions

Search this Thread

Old 08-04-2013, 07:11 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2000
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L I6
Default WJ 3inch lift questions

Hey all,

I've lifted a few XJs, but will be lifting a friend's WJ shortly. We will be doing the IROR 3inch kit.

http://www.ironrockoffroad.com/Merch...egory_Code=PFW

I am just looking for any helpful tips as to what else I may need other than the hardware that comes in the IROR kit, for example, extended brake lines, or can I just relocate the brackets as I did with the XJ? TCase drop or SYE? I have no experience with WJs, so just looking for some helpful pointers, thanks!
Old 08-05-2013, 07:31 PM
Old fart with a wrench

Received 723 Likes on 628 Posts
Year: 2000 XJ Sport & WJ Laredo
Model: Grand Cherokee (WJ)
Engine: 4.0L

The only major difference is the rear suspension. It only has a 3 point control arm setup as opposed to the ZJ's 4. You may need different track bars to center the axles, but I think this only becomes necessary with 4" or more. Don't quote me on that. Make sure your shocks have enough travel so as to not "top out", and you may need longer sway bar links.
Old 08-06-2013, 04:34 PM

Thanks for the reply. I'll make sure to take a look at those things
Old 08-07-2013, 12:26 AM