New pump, no gas at rail - Jeep Cherokee Forum
Jeep Cherokee Forum


Comanche Tech. MJ stock & modified. MJ (86-92)
All discussion regarding the Jeep Comanche, the pickup truck related to the Cherokee platform.

New pump, no gas at rail

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-07-2017, 11:21 PM   #1
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Th Cloud
Posts: 182

View Salden Hund's Photo Album My Photos
Default New pump, no gas at rail

88 Comanche.


Just installed the new pump to a repurposed sending unit. All wires were checked for continuity. All lines were blasted clear: Return, feed line, breather hoses. I can't get any psi to the fuel rail. Pump audibly primes when "on" but no gas to fuel rail still. Even though I collected old gas from the engine feed line from blaistin' it wit air, could an obstruction from old old gas re-obstruct? IDK man.
Lower fuel line is going to filter





Both pistons articulated in and out w air.... yes... that is ductape.



Orange to orange, pink to pink

I've worked a full day, then tooled on this the past two nights till dumb-in-tha morning and am stumped to why it primes but won't reached the rail when cranking. Any thoughts?

Update: Please note, the second photo shows the foreground hose being the line connected to the filter. And be advised, I've been looking forward to this Jilapy for a looong time

Last edited by Salden Hund; 07-07-2017 at 11:46 PM.
Salden Hund is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2017, 12:00 AM   #2
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Th Cloud
Posts: 182

View Salden Hund's Photo Album My Photos
Default

"NOOOOOO KEVINNNNN, NOOOOOOOOO" - Kevin Heart.
The lines are swapped ops

Too bad it's 0100. Gotta wait to fire her up a couple of hours from now. Man that old gas sure did stink. Finally scraped the old tank and took out the canister w the old pumped gas. Man this imaginary giraffe friend of mine on a unicycle is really cool!

So how bad is old gas fumes? Honestly?
Salden Hund is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2017, 06:31 PM   #3
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Th Cloud
Posts: 182

View Salden Hund's Photo Album My Photos
Default

not to mention, I installed a new tank.
today I pulled the fuel rail and injectors and cleaned everything really good. All injectors measured 16.6 ohms. With fuel psi tester, gauge does not move at all during cranking. Again, I hear the pump priming, and when I unscrew the pressure gauge, I hear a little air leaking out so the rail is getting some pressure. Even when the Schroeder valve is depressed, an ample amount of air can be heard being purged.

She will fire once sprayed w ether, but immediately die out after that's burned.ive swapped the relays around and I'm completely stumped. Any suggestions?
Salden Hund is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2017, 12:33 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Batman33165's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Rowlett, Texas
Posts: 881

View Batman33165's Photo Album My Photos
Default

I would start disconnecting lines and prime it at different locations, sounds like theres a leak. It could be not letting the line gain its pressure needed.

Like i said, disconnect the hose at the pump.. have a bucket or something to catch the fuel.. and do that till you find your hose that fuel is not flowing
Batman33165 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2017, 10:26 PM   #5
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Th Cloud
Posts: 182

View Salden Hund's Photo Album My Photos
Default

I put5 gallons in and she finally started gaining 32-34 psi at the rail. She runs so nice. Not to mention crisis since I clapped up the downpipe.
Thanks Batman!
Salden Hund is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2017, 10:34 PM   #6
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Th Cloud
Posts: 182

View Salden Hund's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Batman33165 View Post
I would start disconnecting lines and prime it at different locations, sounds like theres a leak. It could be not letting the line gain its pressure needed.

Like i said, disconnect the hose at the pump.. have a bucket or something to catch the fuel.. and do that till you find your hose that fuel is not flowing
Two weird things. In the Haynes manual, the comanche tank diagram shows the bottom, left-most fuel male hose attachment as the supply fitting. However if you observe my photo of my sending unit, you'll notice the that fitting is actually the return. This caused me to have my initial no-fuel scenario.
Also, the pump woring is different in the manual and my photo. Regardless, it pumps, just a weird thing I noticed. Ill post pix for viewing pleasure later.
Salden Hund is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2017, 01:50 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Batman33165's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Rowlett, Texas
Posts: 881

View Batman33165's Photo Album My Photos
Default

hmm, that is weird... but maybe it is because the part is different than OEM... not sure, hopefully someone on this forum can shed some light
Batman33165 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:40 PM.


 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: