Search this Thread

Old 12-04-2016, 06:37 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1992
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default Noob here, noob to Jeeps and my XJ

Hi,

Looking forward to learning the eccentricities of the XJ to help out with some mod's I'm planning.

Long story short, the wife inherited a 1992 XJ Laredo 2wd several years ago. It is extremely clean and straight, only about 100k on the Odometer. She drives an Xterra when i can keep her out of my C1500 burb. I never had much interest in the XJ because I also had, up to about a year ago, a lifted K20 Burb on 37's I used for hunting and fishing until I got an offer I couldn't refuse and sold it.

Fast forward to now, and the Jeep just still sits there all lonely quiet. So, given I no longer have a vehicular project underway, and the Jeep in stock form holds very little monetary value, I think it's time to "redneck" it up a bit.

Seriously considering converting it to 4wd and seeing where things go from there. In a perfect world, I would swap in some 1ton axles and go all-out with it. Initially I think I'm gonna just lift it, 31-33" tires, and put a locker in the rear diff., possibly a gear swap while in there. That's a minimum to get it to where I'll be seen driving it. No offense to anyone running a stocker, but as it is it just isn't "me".

The only thing the Jeep truly needs is an antenna and headliner. Aside from that I am hard-presseed to find anything else wrong with it.

Anyway, looking forward to sharing what I can with the group, and learning as much or more from those of you who are far more educated about the Cherokee.

Sincerely,
Jay in Texas
Old 12-05-2016, 10:50 AM
Banned

Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts
Year: 2000
Model: Cherokee(XJ)
Engine: Golen 4.6L