Narrow the search for a Cherokee?

Search this Thread

Old 03-11-2018, 11:40 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Narrow the search for a Cherokee?

Hey I'm Dane. I really only ride motorcycles but I'm finding myself in need of a vehicle. I'm digging the old boxy XJ Cherokees and I'm hoping someone can help me narrow down my search criteria.

I need to be able to tow a small trailer with 2 motorcycles (lets say 2,000-3000lbs)
I'd use it for some random city driving when bikes are out of commission or the weather is too bad to ride. Random camping trips (I'll sleep outside)
I daydream about some moderate off-roading but I doubt it would happen often, if at all. I have a lot of projects that take up most of my time already.
I need to be able to work on it myself (within reason) I'm no master mechanic, but I figure the Cherokee has a pretty big community to help me out and plenty of aftermarket parts.
I noticed it came in some different versions over the years. I definitely like the boxier ones. 2 door vs 4 door I'm not sure. I seriously don't know cars so is 4wd even something I would need for the above mentioned tasks?

Would love it if you guys could point me in the right direction for specific models, year range, etc. I could care less about extra crap. I don't need a radio, heater, AC, power windows, blah blah blah. Budget is $2000 and below.

Any help is greatly appreciated. Have a good one -Dane
Old 03-18-2018, 12:55 AM
CF Veteran

Received 249 Likes on 199 Posts
Year: 1999
Model: Cherokee(XJ)
Engine: I6 4.0L

Welcome to the family... well at least searching to be part of the Jeep family....

As for the XJ's.... only one's I'd steer clear of is the 2000 +.... there's a known issue with the heads cracking... but '99 and older you're good.
Main thing to look for is rot. Because the XJ does not have a separate frame like some other vehicles do.
Check any you find really well for cancer.