Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Vibes after lift, please advise

Old 02-12-2014, 05:23 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 98'
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L I6
Default Vibes after lift, please advise

Just lifted my 98 cherokee 3.5" inches and now I'm getting some drive line vibes. I'm aware its because the drive line is at a more slanted angle, but how would I go about fixing this? I'm a student in high school with not a whole lot of money, so some cheap solutions would be appreciated. Maybe a t case drop kit?
Old 02-12-2014, 05:36 PM

Year: 1992
Engine: 4.0

I know a slip yoke eliminator is the best solution and you can get one for like 150$ the rugged ridge on Amazon is the cheapest. I have 3 inch also and have vibes only at 55 like if I go faster it goes away. I'm also curious if the she would fix that
Old 02-12-2014, 06:01 PM
CF Veteran

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Year: 1990
Engine: 4.0

Or in the mean time, measure your pinion angles and adjust as needed.
Old 02-12-2014, 06:07 PM
Banned

Year: 2001

Prior to installing a SYE I installed a TC drop and shimmed rear axle. Wasn't perfect but helped.
Old 02-12-2014, 06:11 PM
CF Veteran

Year: 1997
Engine: 4.0L

Both adjusting(like tank said) and t-case drop/sye can help. Use a t-case drop as only a temp fix till you can either do a hack-n-tap or buy an actual sye. And you don't even need to buy a t-case drop if you have some tools and skill. Just get some 1" square tubing and longer bolts. Or even just longer bolts and a few nuts to space it out(tubing is preferred)
Old 02-12-2014, 06:23 PM

Originally Posted by Demonoid369