Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

TRIED IT ALL!

Search this Thread

Old 04-22-2012, 08:07 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Angry TRIED IT ALL!

Ok TEAM we have a new one here. My daughters 99 Cherokee (I6 Cylinder, 180000) has a very specific problem. I have read all the post related to similar and made several changes but haven't resolved the problem. My background is Mech Engr so I have analyzed this until my brain hurts. Two shops haven't figured it out so I thought I would come to you guys. At nearly exactly 90 secs after a smooth start the RPMs start revving up and slowing down like it's almost a stall and then do this back and forth for 60 seconds. IF I let it idle for 3 min it will run fine! ( Which is how I let her drive it now). However if I drive it while the RPMSs are up and down it will buck like crazy. A better description is it's as if the throttle body is closing completely off and then and opening wide open back and forth. STILL at the 3 min mark, runs smooth and great from then on. I know it's not the time. It's the temp of either air or coolant. SO I have done the following;
Replace IACV ( and cleaned port on throttle body)
Replace Coolant Sensor
Replace Intake Air Temp sensor
Replace MAP
Replace TPS
Full tuneup
Everything else on the car works great so it's a Keeper
Old 04-22-2012, 08:22 PM
CF Veteran

Year: 1995
Engine: I6 4.0L

were any codes thrown on it?
Old 04-22-2012, 08:23 PM

Year: 1996
Engine: 4.0 Inline 6

Pcm?
Old 04-22-2012, 08:26 PM

Year: 2000
Engine: 4.0

MY 2000 does the same thing, I cant figure it out either.
Old 04-22-2012, 08:27 PM

Originally Posted by Laxbro26
Pcm?
this is my thought also
Old 04-22-2012, 08:34 PM
CF Veteran

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Year: 1990

It's hunting... After cat o2?
Old 04-22-2012, 08:40 PM
Seasoned Member

Year: 1998