Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Tips on spring install this weekend

Search this Thread

Old 11-30-2012, 01:48 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1998
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L
Default Tips on spring install this weekend

I have a tired 3" Pro Comp lift that has been on my Jeep for 4 years. Really it is 3" front and 2" AAL rear. Now with all my accessories, heavy spare and gear it is a little saggy.

I bought a set of RE 3.5 coils, RE 3.5" leaf pack, RE sway bar disconnects and a mystery adjustable trac bar that I got from a NAXJA member.

I am going to tear into it this weekend. Other than installing the Pro Comp lift 4 years ago, I have limited experience installing springs and no experience mixing and matching components. I am looking for general advice for things to watch for and potential problems that might arise. Any thoughts?

I know that I am only lifting another 0.5", however, since I know the RE lift is underestimated, here are my concerns:

Will using the lower control arms that came with my Pro Comp kit pose any alignment problems if the new springs give me an extra 1" or so?

I have MX9000 shocks that came with the Pro Comp 3" kit, I am going to continue to use them for now. How can I tell if I need longer shocks?

Hopefully everything lines up close enough to go get it aligned next week since I have a 4wheeling trip planned for next weekend.

Thanks
Old 11-30-2012, 01:51 PM
CF Veteran

Received 22 Likes on 22 Posts
Year: 1989 xj sport 2dr
Engine: 12 hole bosch Injectors

Acccording to what you have and what you bought you should be just fine the little extra lift should not be a issue.
Old 11-30-2012, 01:55 PM
CF Veteran

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Year: 1996
Engine: l6 4.0

You Should be ok on shocks and lca's. I would get new shocks anyways. 4 years is old for a well uses shock.
Old 11-30-2012, 02:09 PM