Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Regear & Locker Question

Search this Thread

Old 05-16-2017, 12:11 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1998
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0 L 6 Cylinder
Default Regear & Locker Question

Hi guys, I need some help! Opinions actually. So here's the deal. I have 11 days to make a decision.

I have been researching and collecting parts for the past 6 months. In 11 days I take the XJ to have some major modifications done to it.

It is a 1998 Jeep Cherokee Sport 4.0 - 231 - Dana 30 & Chrysler 8.25

It is getting Hooligan Offroad full frame stiffeners & cross member skid. Iron Rock Offroad Springs and mslc parts. Custom 1 ton steering and custom long arm lift. 35in tires put on. And was going to regear it! I do not want to swap out axles.

I have been saving, and budgeting everything accordingly. I go in and set the appoinment... The question was asked... Lockers.

Damn.. I completely forgot and overlooked lockers... I was super researching suspension, came across that subject, and told myself I was going to come back to that. But it slipped my mind. I told em Ima research it up before my appmnt.

I have a basic understanding of how they work, why it's SUPER important, and the different options. And holy sh*t they are expensive. lol.

So now the question of opinions at hand.... I pretty much have two options ahead of me that I can see right now. 1. Should I go ahead and regear, leave it an open differential on both ends; and later down the road, when I have funds then add lockers? Would I just waste a lot of money having them go back into it twice? Or 2. Do not regear it at all yet, and later down the road regear and locker it all up at the same time? I have read that if I don't regear it yet it's going to suck ballz!! Sluggesh, and waste fuel, and hard on the transmission etc. True? Thanx for any advice, or what you would do.