Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Power Inverter Questions

Search this Thread

Old 03-13-2013, 08:45 AM
CF Veteran

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Year: 1989
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default Power Inverter Questions

Im looking into getting a power inverter for my jeep but not sure what I will need. I want to be able to run a grinder sawzal impact and maybe an air compressor nothing big just a 25gal from harbor freight. Im looking at a 900watt constant and 1800watt peak. How can I wire this up to the jeep since I have an amplifier wired up for my subs and will I need a capacitor if so can I get one that is commonly used for an amplifier for adio ise
Old 03-13-2013, 12:34 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Year: 1998

Let me start off by saying that I am no electronics expert. All I can tell you is what I have on my Jeep, and what my plans are.

Check out my build thread, I have a 0 gauge wire running from my battery to distribution blocks that are under my rear seat, and I have electronics wired into the block. Right now all I have is an on-board compressor, but my buddy has the same wiring setup with 2 big amps,2 subs and an air compressor and everything runs perfectly. We're both planning on getting Whistler Pro-2500W inverters, but they also sell smaller ones.

I'm pretty sure that if you ran something similar to what we have you'd be fine. I'd recommend upgrading your battery and maybe alternator, but I don't think a capacitor is necessary.
Old 03-13-2013, 05:38 PM
CF Veteran

Cool I read somewhere there where different waves or something that was needed to start the compressor. Is you compressor running on dc volts?
Old 03-13-2013, 05:56 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2000
Engine: straight slush

Originally Posted by Slim357