Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

piggy back to tune the jeep

Search this Thread

Old 08-08-2013, 12:00 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1994
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default piggy back to tune the jeep

im looking to tune my jeep to get better gas mileage and i also am going to be switching to e85 its about a dollar cheaper ... i have been tuning cars since 2007 but i dont know what works in jeeps...

i called aem to ask about their fic and they recommend me the fic8... that things is expensive

anyone have any ideas... if all else fails ill end up using the apexi afc.. but the aem fic is a pretty nice unit being that i can fully tune the map with my laptop and have more adjustments
Old 08-08-2013, 10:14 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Year: 1991
Engine: 4.0 I-6

I don't have a clue what most of what it is that you're talking about but one thing for sure... DON'T use E85. The XJ is not designed for it. I run ethanol free whenever I can (even though it is more expensive). I get better gas mileage and I don't have to worry about the insides of the engine being eaten up by any corrosives that the ethanol garbage creates.
Old 08-08-2013, 10:53 PM
CF Veteran

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

e85 has 30% less energy content, theoretically, you'd need to burn 30% more to go the same distance. Is it 30% cheaper than straight gas in your area? Here it's only like 75 cents cheaper which is like 20% cheaper than straight gas. You also have to modify your fuel system components in order to run e85. So you factor in that and your $500 piggy back system and it's not cheaper than gas. If you are doing it to save money, you might check into propane.
Old 08-09-2013, 02:09 AM
CF Veteran

Received 14 Likes on 14 Posts