Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Old Man Emu

Search this Thread

Old 01-18-2013, 08:23 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2000
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L I6
Default Old Man Emu

Thinking about purchasing an Old Man Emu lift for my 2000 XJ sport. I'm new to the world of Jeeps and I'm already in love with mine. I know it's going to be an exspenssive hobby but it will be worth it. If anyone has owned or has any suggestions or advice as to what I would need from Old Man Emu, it would be much appreciated. She is bone stock so it will be quite the project. Looking to lift 3" and still drive it to work and off road. Mostly hitting deep mud, some rocky terrain, and huge puddles. If you want list what you bought for yours and let me know how it rides. Any input is welcome as long as it is relative to Old Man Emu lifts or something you believe is better. Thanks!
Old 01-18-2013, 08:48 AM
Seasoned Member

OME is expensive but from what I understand it give a GREAT ride!

I was torn between OME & RE. I let someone talk me into RE (still a noob) and wish I would have gone with OME. Hinsight is 20/20. But to be fair to RE, my kit is still new so Ill give it a chance. Im on RE 4.5/Bilsteins.

The only down side is lift height, alot of guys wanna go higher.

Ive heard NOTHING but good about OME.

Last edited by Malik3404; 01-18-2013 at 08:56 AM.
Old 01-18-2013, 09:04 AM
CF Veteran

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Year: 89
Engine: 4.0 I6

OME specializes in low lift, higher speed applications such as highway and light trails or desert style driving. I wouldn't reccommend it for deep puddles or rocks simply for the fact that its a smaller lift.