Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New OE Leaf +2" shackles and spacers

Old 07-20-2013, 03:32 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default New OE Leaf +2" shackles and spacers

Hey guys I've got a 00' that has a pretty rough ride in the rear. And to my best eye- It looks like my rear leaf springs are on their last leg. Bushings are all beat and it warps the opposite way.

I figured while I'm replacing stuff I'd go for a little budget lift. This is my game place:

Buy OE leaf springs ($109 a side) and then buy 2" shackles and spacers for the front..

Can anyone comment on this? Whether I should just replace some other things while I'm down there as well? From my understanding with only 2" of lift I should be okay with stock shocks, brake lines etc

All my control/pitman arms bushings Look great and are stock. I'm new to 4x4 and the jeep world but I'm learning a lot.

Thanks!
Old 07-20-2013, 03:49 PM
CF Veteran

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Year: '99 and '91

If you're after ride quality I'd go with some good shocks. Bilstein, fox, old man emu. Bilsteins seem to be a crowd favorite. Not too bad of a price really, considering what crappy shocks cost.

Stock replacement leafs, extended shackle and a pair of shackle relocators will get the best ride out of the back. Extended shackles alone will more than likely make the shackle angle worse. Causing a harsher ride.

For example, I'm shooting for 2.5" lift. 30" tires. I have 2" OME coils, rear I'm going to make a bastard park with two sets of XJ leaf springs, hopefully for no more than an inch lift. Then extended shackles and shackle relocators for the rest of the lift.
Old 07-21-2013, 02:06 AM
CF Veteran

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by sixstroke