Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

lunchbox ?'s

Search this Thread

Old 11-25-2015, 09:21 AM
Seasoned Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default lunchbox ?'s

As I plan to re-gear and lock, I am trying to gather info on what are the downsides of lunchbox lockers... I have no experience with lockers, so I have no basis to go off of.... its a toy that needs to be streetable to get to the trails, but by no means is it a DD.... I am leaning towards 4.56 gears so I will be ready when i wana step up to 35's... I am still between locking both or locking front and LS the rear.... Any/all comments or suggestions are welcome.... thanks guys
Old 11-25-2015, 09:32 AM
CF Veteran

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Year: 99
Engine: 4.0

Originally Posted by lukc22
As I plan to re-gear and lock, I am trying to gather info on what are the downsides of lunchbox lockers... I have no experience with lockers, so I have no basis to go off of.... its a toy that needs to be streetable to get to the trails, but by no means is it a DD.... I am leaning towards 4.56 gears so I will be ready when i wana step up to 35's... I am still between locking both or locking front and LS the rear.... Any/all comments or suggestions are welcome.... thanks guys
Lunchbox is cheapest and "easiest" in that they don't require user input and theres no electronics/hydraulics to worry about. A few of people use the Powertrax No Slip (LSD) without complaints. They are nominally more expensive than a lunchbox and will give you the added benefit of no ratcheting on pavement. Basically the biggest downside is a lunchbox will eat tires quicker than a LSD/selectable.
Old 11-25-2015, 09:35 AM
Seasoned Member

Originally Posted by VTJeep