Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Lengthen driveshaft at home?

Search this Thread

Old 11-19-2017, 10:52 AM
CF Veteran

Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts
Year: 1990
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default Lengthen driveshaft at home?

1990 XJ 5" Lift, 33x12.5s, 8.8 rear axle, SYE, Double Cardon rear driveshaft (front XJ shaft), driveline angles are spot on

I want to move the rear axle back 1" in the wheel well (spring perches have additional holes to shift the axle) to center it in the wheel well. The driveshaft is barely long enough as it is, it will be too short when I shift the axle. I fit steel for a living, so I am considering cutting and fitting a longer piece of tube myself. I'm hesitant to weld it out myself, would rather have a shop do it and balance the shaft also. The double cardon joint is old, could probably stand to be rebuilt.

Looking for advice on how to proceed. Considering the cost to buy tube and rebuild parts for the double cardon joint and then cost of welding/balancing, how close am I to the cost of buying a custom shaft?
Old 11-19-2017, 10:56 AM
CF Veteran

Received 16 Likes on 12 Posts
Year: 97

Originally Posted by bad_idea
1990 XJ 5" Lift, 33x12.5s, 8.8 rear axle, SYE, Double Cardon rear driveshaft (front XJ shaft), driveline angles are spot on

I want to move the rear axle back 1" in the wheel well (spring perches have additional holes to shift the axle) to center it in the wheel well. The driveshaft is barely long enough as it is, it will be too short when I shift the axle. I fit steel for a living, so I am considering cutting and fitting a longer piece of tube myself. I'm hesitant to weld it out myself, would rather have a shop do it and balance the shaft also. The double cardon joint is old, could probably stand to be rebuilt.