Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

LCOG Armor...Any products that aren't worth it?

Search this Thread

Old 08-16-2014, 10:12 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1996
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0 Liter H.O
Default LCOG Armor...Any products that aren't worth it?

Finally the time has come and the pay check as large and steady. I've been building my modest LCOG setup for a few years now. I've recently retired my ole girl from a daily driver so I'm going all out. Topic of discussion...armor. I've done fenders, bumpers, diff guards, and crossmember. I have the metal on the way for 2x6 tube rockers/mini boat sides. For sake of argument lets take any sort of cage out of the equation (I have plans). Here are the common products/designs I want to hear and learn about:
1.Engine/tranny skid, Are the worth it? Does it makes repairs too difficult?
2.Control arm mount skids, they don't seem too popular. Just a waste of money?
3.Fuel tank skid. I've gotten by without one and no issues. Is it a good "just in case" mod?
4.Anybody running a full belly skid? I would love to design and fab one but I hesitate with the added weight and reduced ability to access the under carriage.

FYI: Trail riding is my thing, but rocks make me as giddy as a school girl. No more mud for me. I spend most of my trail time at Rausch Creek. I'm running a 3" short arm lift on 33's. I'm here to prove you don't need massive lift or tires to hang with the big dogs. My motto, Keep it low, Keep it slow, and expect damage.

I know its asking a lot at once but throw in your two cents and pics certainly welcome.
Old 08-16-2014, 01:16 PM
CF Veteran

Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts
Year: 93 2 door
Engine: 4.0

I was really hoping to see some sweet low cog build plans here. the term LCOG gets tossed around too much. you just have a small lift kit.