Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

best hill climbing set up

Search this Thread

Old 11-28-2011, 05:02 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default best hill climbing set up

I was wondering what some of yawl thought would be the best hill climbing set up I am new to the off roadin part however my father owns a shop so I am very mechanically inclined we went to lbl last weekend and I could not climb some of the hill I wanted too. I have a Cherokee with a 4.5 lift and Spartan lockers and 31 10-50 15 tires wild country’s. my thoughts are skidding the whole bottom from bumper to bumper solid and putting some 15x12 rims with some skid steer tires on it making it like a budget buggy I have seen them things and the can climb some nice hills for only 2 wheel drive any thoughts would be great. It seems that long and low can really go up hills
Old 11-28-2011, 05:21 PM
CF Veteran

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Year: '99
Engine: 4.o

Why couldn't you clime them. Were they rocky or muddy. Or just to steep. In my opinion your tires are small for a 4.5" lift. I would trim the fenders and run 33-35's If your locked in the front you should get some cromo shafts to run 35's. Your tires also aren't the most aggressive. TSL's are still one of the best all around tires. Pit-bulls are close to the best in my opinion. If you run those be vary light on the pedal They DIG! If they are to steep you can use a front winch as a suck down to keep you from going over backwards.
Old 11-28-2011, 05:38 PM