Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

5.5 lift CV Driveshaft and Pinion Angle

Search this Thread

Old 09-18-2017, 05:49 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default 5.5 lift CV Driveshaft and Pinion Angle

Hello all,
One of many new members on the forum. Long time user, first time posting anything. So here it is, Soon I am going to be undertaking my second XJ project and be installing my second lift. Although, I am not an expert I have an okay understanding of how everything under the jeep works.
A little background on the jeep. Its an 01 Sport with an NP 231 t-case and a c8.25 rear axle. No worries about the low pinion front axle because I have a spare high pinion I will be swapping in for now. I am going to be running a 5.5 inch Rubicon Express long arm lift.
My questions to you. I know I'm going to be needing an SYE and CV rear driveshaft. Im not exactly sure what length shaft to get and brand. Secondly, I read something on the rubicon express website about shimming to change the pinion angle. What shims do I need to achieve my desired pinion angle after the 5.5 inch lift and no T-case drop? Anyone have any personal experience? If so feel free to share the size shims you used. I may have some follow up questions for your comments.

Thanks Everyone.
Old 09-18-2017, 10:29 PM
CF Veteran

Received 38 Likes on 37 Posts
Year: 96 & 88 4 dr Cherokees

You really should wait until the lift & SYE are installed, and then take measurements to see what length D/S is needed, and what angle shims are needed FOR YOUR JEEP.

Saves a lot of guess work and having to redo things if you guessed wrong.

I say for your jeep, cuz extra weight like bumpers & such can affect the shims needed.
Old 09-19-2017, 01:56 PM
CF Veteran

Received 32 Likes on 27 Posts
Year: 1990
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Engine: 4.0