Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1999 XJ Turbo install?

Search this Thread

Old 09-14-2017, 09:55 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1999
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0 inline 6 cylinder
Default 1999 XJ Turbo install?

I have a 1999 Cherokee Sport with the 4.0 inline 6. I have a few turbos from mid 80s Mercedes Benz 5 cylinder diesel engines. What I'm needing help with is, can I take one of these non computer controlled turbos, put it on my jeep and it work properly? This may seem like a silly question, but I'm new at mods and jeep stuff.
Old 09-14-2017, 01:02 PM
CF Veteran

Received 21 Likes on 18 Posts
Year: 1996
Engine: 4.0

Having the turbo puts you at about 1% there. The rest is easy...

Do a "title" forum search on turbos, and you'll find lots of dreamers just like you. Here's a good thread over at the other board that shows what it really takes:

http://www.naxja.org/forum/showthread.php?t=1094822

Unfortunately, the pics are broken due to PhotoBucket's evil empire, but you'll get the jest of just how big of a project this is.
Old 09-14-2017, 02:48 PM
CF Veteran

Received 149 Likes on 126 Posts
Year: 1995
Engine: Turbo 4.0

Can you weld? This manifold cost roughly $80 to make. Sch40 mild steel from a scrap yard sold at $2 a pound and eBay sourced flanges for the t3 and external wastegate option. The turbo is a holset h1c off of a 5.9 Cummins generator. I bought it for $50 because the seller thought it was blown. They all leak oil into the turbine after a while. Another $50 into it to rebuild and upgrade the thrust bearing and the turbine oil seal.
Manifold $80
Turbo $100

I picked up my 1913 FIC from modernperformance. $390

36lbs ev1 injectors $100 for 8

Used wastegate for $80