Search this Thread

Old 03-27-2013, 07:18 PM
CF Veteran

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Year: 1998
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L
Default Types of Long Arms

So I'm considering as a future mod putting some long arms on my XJ. It's sitting at about 5 inches right now, which is plenty for my needs, so I'd just be swapping the short arm setup for long arms (some longer travel shocks would probably happen too but that's beside the point). Due to the cost of long arm kits I'd like to attempt to fab this myself.

OK, so that's the idea; now I need some help. I'm new to long arms and don't know what the various set-ups look like. I need a definition of the various type of long arms out there, pros and cons of each, and which ones would be the easiest/best to DIY? I know someone is going to scream search at me but I did and couldn't really find what I was looking for. I know this is a bit of a noob question but wth.

Thanks y'all in advance.
Old 03-27-2013, 07:25 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1996
Engine: 4.0

Originally Posted by EagleXJ
So I'm considering as a future mod putting some long arms on my XJ. It's sitting at about 5 inches right now, which is plenty for my needs, so I'd just be swapping the short arm setup for long arms (some longer travel shocks would probably happen too but that's beside the point). Due to the cost of long arm kits I'd like to attempt to fab this myself.

OK, so that's the idea; now I need some help. I'm new to long arms and don't know what the various set-ups look like. I need a definition of the various type of long arms out there, pros and cons of each, and which ones would be the easiest/best to DIY? I know someone is going to scream search at me but I did and couldn't really find what I was looking for. I know this is a bit of a noob question but wth.

Thanks y'all in advance.