Tool Thread...

Old 07-13-2011, 08:39 PM
CF Veteran

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Year: 1987 & 1996
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default Tool Thread...

I wanted to toss out there some things I've learned about different names of tools over the last 25 years of working on stuff, including my Jeeps, Bikes etc.

Heres some ideas for you.
Lets talk ratchets:
Most china tool sets the ratchets are disposable. Point closed.
I HATE busted knuckles so I use only a quality ratchet.
Some names to look for in Ratchets.
Craftsman, typical good quality and last a very long time.
MAc/Snap-On: Like Craftsman very good quality, but without a tool truck your screwed for getting it warrantied. A lot of Truck Tool dealers, are snobbish
about replacing broken stuff if your not a regular customer.

Great Neck: cheap set made in China or Taiwan but I've been using a socket set for several years from them and busted one ratchet but no sockets or extensions. Truck Pro replaced the ratchet without question so the warranty stands good with me.

Kobalt: Kobalt sold by Lowes, they use to sell real ratchets, they are every bit as good as Snap-on I've been using a long handle 3/8 drive for several years also without breaking it, its pulled main bolts, head bolts etc.

I just bought a cheap set of Harbor Freight:
http://www.harborfreight.com/profess...kit-45951.html

First off the wrenches in this set are CHEAP. The sockets and ratchets are CR-V Taiwan brand. I've got some Taiwan CR-V stuff that is 20+ years old and I do not remember ever breaking a CR-V socket or wrench. The ratchets feel good with tight teeth but time will tell on them, I typically don't use the cheap ratchets just because of the above named busted knuckles. I keep the Kobalt and Craftsman for that.

Feel free to add to my little list as the need/mood strikes you.