Cherokee Chat General non-tech Cherokee chat
XJ/MJ/ZJ/WJ
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Picking up a 2000 XJ with blow motor. Need some help.

Search this Thread

Old 11-20-2012, 09:07 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2001
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0l
Default Picked up a 2000 XJ with blow motor. Need some help.

Ok so in 2 days I pick up a 2000 Cherokee 4x4 with 228k on it and the motor has a hole in he block from a thrown rod.
I think it suffered the common cracked head problem and the owner did not stop driving it until it blew up.

I need to know what years of the 4.0 will work in this rig, and what years are known to have any problems.

Also what years did they make the HO motor?

Sorry for the newb questions but I am a newb when comes to Jeeps. Been working on cars for a long time thou.
Going to turn this XJ in to an off road toy that can still be a DD if needed. But right now I just want to get it back on the road again.

I do not need to smog it where I live.

Thanks for the help guys!

Last edited by Badmunky; 11-22-2012 at 02:16 PM.
Old 11-20-2012, 09:22 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Year: 2000
Engine: 4.0L I6

The lower block seems to common through all years of the 4.0, however, only a 2000-2001 with the distributorless ignition system heads work unless you like doing some mods. Read more, but I want to say that the intake ports are sized and positioned specifically for 2000-2001 heads.

The key thing about the head issue is to read/research 0331 which is the head number that hasthe issue. There are solutions that are reliable, but I have yet to find a cheap one. But since you gattado the entire motor, you have a bit of options.

Last edited by stormitecture; 11-20-2012 at 09:24 PM.
Old 11-20-2012, 11:04 PM

Thanks for the info. Ill be doing a lot of research before I buy any thing.
It will be a while before I have the cash to get another motor any way.
So the 2000-2001 was distributerless?
I did not know that.