Search this Thread

Old 06-28-2014, 06:13 PM
CF Veteran

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Year: 1994 1993
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default Painting with spray paint?

Has anyone ever painted an entire XJ using only spray paint and had it come out looking ok? I just did my rims and used gray primer then black paint and it seems like it looks smooth and even. But it's such a small area I don't know if that would translate to an entire vehicle
Old 06-28-2014, 06:20 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

whenever I do large panels I get "striping". I have little experience with it and I bet I could get it to look pretty good. I never get striping on small items (bumpers, wheels, etc) but I tried doing a trunk and when I got it into the sun it looked AWFUL.

this guys jeep is rattle canned:

https://www.cherokeeforum.com/f46/pr...orange-193455/
Old 06-29-2014, 12:39 AM
CF Veteran

Received 14 Likes on 14 Posts

Have you thought about plasti dip?You can buy it in gallons and use a normal house sprayer to paint it with.Take a look around https://www.dipyourcar.com/home.php
Old 06-29-2014, 01:10 AM
Seasoned Member

Year: 1999

It would be hard to get a paint job out of spray cans to not have any striping. Have you thought about painting with a roller? I seen it done and it looks ok but it's always a flat or semi flat color.
Old 06-29-2014, 02:51 PM
Seasoned Member

Year: 1998

Originally Posted by Strmtrooper70
It would be hard to get a paint job out of spray cans to not have any striping. Have you thought about painting with a roller? I seen it done and it looks ok but it's always a flat or semi flat color.