Painting grill and light covers.

Search this Thread

Old 08-12-2010, 05:27 PM
Cherokee Forum Vendor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Year: 2000
Model: Cherokee
Engine: V6 4L
Default Painting grill and light covers.

So I'm contemplating painting my grill and light covers black like some of the other xj's I've seen, but the thing is I am the worst painter ever... Especially painting plastics(Always seems to just flake off).

First off does anyone have a pic of gray xj 98-01 with black grill and light covers?

Second how should I paint this? Do I need to sand it(What grit?) and what kind of pray paint(for plastics?)? How many coats? I'm a noob. yes.

THANKS!

Or is anyone willing to trade hehehe.
Old 08-12-2010, 07:47 PM
Seasoned Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1997
Model: Grand Cherokee
Engine: 4.0

i painted my grill about a week ago and im not the best painter either lol..i sanded it with 2000 gritt and just used black prime for plastic and repeated sanding after paint 3 times
Old 08-12-2010, 08:06 PM

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Year: 1996

You need to use the red or maroon colored 3M scotch brite pad to scuff the painted surface...most automotive stores have this...in your case probably Canadian tire. This will be easy to work into all the cracks. Then wipe the parts down with a prep solvent to get all the dust off. next use a tack cloth to pick up any dust from sanding that you missed. I used a semi gloss black on my grill and buckets and they turned out great...I used two coats.
Old 08-12-2010, 08:29 PM
Cherokee Forum Vendor

Originally Posted by BLKXJ 96