Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

No heat

Search this Thread

Old 12-15-2016, 04:47 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default No heat

My 2001 xj is not blowing hot air when I turn the heater on. I have a fairly new heater core. I have a 195 degree thermostat and a almost new water pump. The blower motor is working. The damper doors appear to work when I change positions it blows at the indicated place....floor, windshield, front vents, etc. however, when I turn the temperature control **** it doesn't seem to change from cold to hot. I have also back flushed the heater core to make sure it wasn't clogged. Any suggestions? It's getting cold out side!

Rick
Old 12-15-2016, 05:41 PM
CF Veteran

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Year: 2001
Engine: 4.0 Litre I6

Originally Posted by ricksim
My 2001 xj is not blowing hot air when I turn the heater on. I have a fairly new heater core. I have a 195 degree thermostat and a almost new water pump. The blower motor is working. The damper doors appear to work when I change positions it blows at the indicated place....floor, windshield, front vents, etc. however, when I turn the temperature control **** it doesn't seem to change from cold to hot. I have also back flushed the heater core to make sure it wasn't clogged. Any suggestions? It's getting cold out side!

Rick
heater core hoses both hot?
Old 12-15-2016, 06:26 PM

Yes both are hot. I back flushed the core from the hose ends. No obstructions.
Old 12-15-2016, 07:53 PM
Banned

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Year: 2000 and 1998
Engine: 4.0

im convinced the water bypasses the bulk of the core, somehow, in/out, with so many just like this. i have heat in my 2000, did all the stuff with my 1998 with little heat?
any pix of the naked core?

im thinking a good part of core stays plugged up,water goes thru a small part.
Old 12-15-2016, 08:58 PM