Cherokee Chat General non-tech Cherokee chat
XJ/MJ/ZJ/WJ

New to the Jeep World.

Old 01-02-2016, 03:58 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default New to the Jeep World.

Alright. For starters, i am new to the Jeep world and after long and hard considerations, am considering purchasing an XJ. I was into the hotrod scene, but realized quickly (with 2 kids) that the hotrod scene is not very utilitarian. So, Jeeps came to mind immediately. After a lot of research, i decided that when i do purchase my XJ, a 3"-4" lift would be the perfect ride height for me, as well as handle all the offroading that i will be doing. This is more than just lift questions so i figured this was the right place to post it.

Question 1: New to lifting. Is there anything i need to do pre-lift kit?

Question 2: After research, it seems obvious to me the long arm lift kit is the way to go. I am currently looking into the Rough Country 4.5" Long arm kit. Thoughts, recommendations comment? Is it a pain to install? Can a first timer such as myself do this in a weekend?

Question 3: It says recommended tire size 33s. With fender trimming 35's will fit no issues, am i correct?

Question 4: What purchase will i need to include in lifting this? Obvious purchases are a SLE, a rear CV driveshaft, a trac bar, sway bar disconnects, a and a steering stabilizer, as well as an alignment and CV joint replacements for good ride and no DW. Is there anything else? What brands are tried and true? Best sway bar disconnects (i hear rough country's are jank)?

Question 5: The un-killable 4.0! What is a safe bore for this engine that will not cause to thin of a sidewall? Never bored one out before so idk its limitations. I could Google this but would prefer experiences over a Google search.