Cherokee Chat General non-tech Cherokee chat
XJ/MJ/ZJ/WJ

new guy here

Search this Thread

Old 10-20-2013, 09:49 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Model: Cherokee
Default new guy here

hey guys my name is frank and im new here. i just got a 89 two door cherokee auto with a 242 t-case with rebuilt trans from my buddy for 500$ i am using it to get back and forth to work so i don't have to rack up milage up on my truck. I'm new to owning a jeep but not new to knowing what you can do to them. last night buddys and i went wheeling a little bit and i got the bug to do some work to her. i dont wanna go crazy but i was thinking a 3 inch lift from rust's with full leafs. only reason why im thinking with full leafs is that the suspention parts are rusty and id like to replace them with nice new lift parts. i still drive the jeep everyday as a dd but wanna be able to get in it and wheel. i was just at the junk yard the other day i need doors due to the fack that mine are rotten, so i got a set of new doors and happen to be my color not rotten but dented who cares! I'm doing from power to manual window and i love that so much more. i also got manual seat frames and swaped out my power for them. inside the jeep smelled like mold due to sitting so i ripped out all the carpet and plan on using truck bed liner for the floors. head liner was saging so that had to go also. i dont smell the mold anymore lol. i am also looking for the wrangler 15x8 wheels to throw on because i love the way they looks and my tires are like brand new. reason why im posting here is because just trying to get some ideas here. the jeep was ridden hard and put away and id like to bring her back to life if you will. jeep hast stock dona lp30 in the front and dana 35 in the rear with 3.55 gears. like i said jeep has a 242 t-case and its a inline 6 with 4x4 clearly. thanks guys any help would be great.
Old 10-20-2013, 10:02 AM
Seasoned Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1989
Engine: 4.0