Cherokee Chat General non-tech Cherokee chat
XJ/MJ/ZJ/WJ

need advice on buying cherokee!!

Old 02-17-2012, 04:24 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1999
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default need advice on buying cherokee!!

hopefully this is the right place...

Im new to buying/building jeeps but, i found a 2000 cherokee im really liking & just wanted to see what some seasoned jeepers thought about it before i bought a P.O.S.!! just wondering how much yall think its worth, what youd pay for it and if its a good start.. this is all i know right now im going saturday to test drive

4 inch RC lift,, 35/12.50 BFG mud terrain tires an black crager wheels. Has a 4.0 automatic an has 112,000 miles on it, was recently rhino lined an painted inside an out. has new wheel bearing, U joints, front an rear pinion seals, new BDS shocks all around.,rustys adjustable trackbar ,cold air intake
Attached Images   
Old 02-17-2012, 01:42 PM
CF Veteran

Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts
Year: 93 2 door

just giving you a bump here. and my .02
if you know nothing about jeeps and want to learn/build. a good place to start is stock
if you know a little about cars and suspension and DONT want to learn/ build (just looking for a fun toy)
then that jeep is perfect for you.

personally, I like it a lot. its a really good start and you can get many more add-ons to increase capability
you'll have plenty of fun in that one

but I wouldnt pay too much higher than $4000 for that (in my area)
because upgrades lose ALL value.
what is he asking for it?
Old 02-17-2012, 01:52 PM
CF Veteran

other than that, its hard to tell if it was built by an idiot or not just by little pics
the 4.0 is a great engine. I've heard that the 2000 and 2001 have bad heads (they crack)
also, does he have upgaded ring and pinion to turn those big tires?
AND. be careful about the test drive!
if this is your first lifted xj test drive, it's gonna be hard to not buy it after you see how much fun it is

welcome to the forum