Search this Thread

Old 04-22-2016, 08:16 PM
Seasoned Member

Received 6 Likes on 3 Posts
Year: 2001
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Engine: 4.0l
Default Is My Jeep Cursed?

Okay, so I am new to Jeeps. I purchased my very first Jeep, a stock '93 XJ 2.5L 5-speed with 182k this past September. First, let me say that I absolutely love driving it (I actually learned to drive a manual tranny just for this Jeep).

However, I have had numerous problems with it in the ~7 months that I've owned it. It started in November, when it died on me while driving down a steep hill towards a busy intersection (THAT was fun, let me tell you). After a couple weeks of scratching my head trying to diagnose the issue, it turned out to be broken valve springs, of all things.

About two weeks after I fixed that, the alternator bracket broke in half, throwing a belt. I have no welding experience, so I had to take it to a machining shop to get it welded back together.

A few months later, it dies on me again while I'm out and about with the wife. I wrote about that issue here: https://www.cherokeeforum.com/f2/no-...e-help-224397/ It ended up being that the starter went out.

I got the new starter properly installed this past Monday and got it running again. And then today, while out doing some rather easy "wheeling" on minimal maintenance dirt roads, it dies on me again. I suspect it is a grounding issue, as the battery is good but there is no power to anything in the Jeep. No dome light, no dash lights, nothing. It does not turnover, crank, or click. It does nothing.

It didn't even make it a week this time! Barely five days!

I realize that in owning a high mileage vehicle that is 20+ years old, things are going to break. I fully expected that, but this seems ridiculous.

I am seriously considering selling this Jeep to be rid of the headaches. I love driving it (when it runs) but I am not sure it is worth the stress.

What do y'all think? Am I overreacting?
Old 04-22-2016, 08:27 PM
CF Veteran