Cherokee Chat General non-tech Cherokee chat
XJ/MJ/ZJ/WJ

Lift Kit Opinions?

Search this Thread

Old 08-17-2015, 09:35 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Lift Kit Opinions?

So I have recently been deciding what lift kit I wanted and was wondering if anyone could give me some help?? Im looking for a 3 inch lift that i can fit 31's on. I am on a budget of around 400 $ Here are some links of the ones i was looking at, Input please ??? Im new to this.
http://www.4wheelparts.com/Lift-Kits...FZKRHwodoh0IFQ
http://www.roughcountry.com/jeep-sus...-kit-670x.html
Old 08-17-2015, 09:40 PM
CF Veteran

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Year: 1999
Engine: 4.0L Inline 6

Let me just summarize most of this forum's opinion for you:

1) Rough Country sucks
2) Rubicon Express, Rusty's, or OME have the best components

But if you asked me, I'd say check out BDS. If you want budget, look at Zone.

AVOID add-a-leaf lift kits, like that Skyjacker one. You want full leaf pack replacements.

Last edited by thatXJguy; 08-17-2015 at 09:43 PM.
Old 08-17-2015, 09:44 PM

Originally Posted by thatXJguy

1) Rough Country sucks

AVOID add-a-leaf lift kits, like that Skyjacker one. You want full leaf pack replacements.
Thanks, I have heard bad about rough country as i have been reading on the forums. I bought my xj about a week ago and trying to budget a lift at about 400$ But thank you
Old 08-18-2015, 06:36 AM
CF Veteran

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Year: 1994 SE
Engine: 4.0

Question: is $400 your entire budget for the lift, or just what you want to spend on a kit?
Old 08-18-2015, 12:47 PM
CF Veteran

Received 14 Likes on 14 Posts
Year: 1999

The best quality leafs/coils in a lift kit is the Rustys full leaf/coil/shock/hardware package ($438) all made in NA, not like those others most are made in China a few in Australia.
Old 08-18-2015, 12:52 PM
CF Veteran

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Year: 2001
Engine: 4.0L I6 HO

Originally Posted by thatXJguy

1) Rough Country sucks